2018 Brown-Brukardt Perfusion Scholarship

Perfusion scholarship applications will be accepted
December 1, 2017 – February 14, 2018.

SpecialtyCare’s Executive Leadership supports the funding of perfusion education tuition for two students enrolled in CAAHEP-accredited programs. I am excited to announce that we will begin accepting the next round of applications for the 2018 Brown-Brukardt Perfusion Scholarship Program on December 1, 2017.

In addition to financial assistance, scholarship winners who successfully complete the program will be offered employment at SpecialtyCare. As part of our network of perfusionists, the recipients can take advantage of many other benefits that SpecialtyCare has to offer, including certification preparation, exposure to top surgeons, and participation in industry-leading research projects.

Perfusion is both a vital medical service and a smart career choice. About 350,000 people need open heart surgery and related cardiovascular perfusion support every year. However, hospitals are currently experiencing a perfusionist shortage, and qualified experts are in high demand. We have written about the shortage and are committed to actively recruiting smart, motivated men and women into the field to ensure that surgeons and patients have skilled perfusion care available when they need it most.

I encourage you to visit the Perfusionist Education section of our website for more on the scholarship and a list of accredited perfusion education programs. Download the application form, and feel free to email us at [email protected] if you have questions after reviewing the information. The names of the two scholarship recipients will be announced the week ending March 9, 2018.

The Brown-Brukardt Perfusion Scholarships are given in honor of Jim Brown and Gary Brukardt—men who helped evolve the practice of perfusion and exemplified uncommon integrity, leadership, and dedication to patient care. Our goal is to support students who share these qualities and demonstrate outstanding potential as cardiovascular perfusionists.