SpecialtyCare Celebrates Medical Assistant Recognition Day

Medical assistants are one of the fastest-growing professions in the nation. These individuals play a valuable role in patient care and we are excited to recognize them today! SpecialtyCare is proud to celebrate Medical Assistant Recognition Day on October 20th, honoring their critical role in making sure medical offices run smoothly and their contribution to high-quality patient care. These health professionals are dedicated, and we extend our sincere thank you for their selflessness and commitment to their local communities. 

What Is a Medical Assistant?

Medical assistants support physicians and other health professionals, typically in a clinic setting. Their responsibilities include administrative and clinical duties, depending on the type and size of the medical facility. These health professionals play an essential role in putting patients at ease and navigating them through the healthcare system.

Education and Certifications

Medical assistants work across various settings, including outpatient clinics, medical offices, and other care facilities. You must obtain a GED degree to become a certified medical assistant, focusing on math and science curriculum, including anatomy and medical terminology. It’s also advised to volunteer at a clinic or physician’s office to enhance your knowledge and experience. 

Many aspiring medical assistants must also complete a post-secondary education of at least one to two years. The curriculum must include courses in anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, infection control, applied mathematics, theory and techniques of intramuscular, intradermal, and subcutaneous injection administration, and theory and methods of phlebotomy.

The final step is completing the CMA exam from the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) or another accredited organization. The CMA certification is valid for 60 months, so you must complete 60 continuing education credits across various areas to remain a certified medical assistant. 

Many states don’t require medical assistants to be certified or licensed, but many employers do. Medical assistants can earn five certifications, including:

  • Certified Medical Assistant (CMA)
  • Registered Medical Assistant (RMA)
  • National Certified Medical Assistant (NCMA)
  • Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)
  • Certified Medical Administrative Assistant (CMAA)

CMAs also have additional specialized certifications that allow them to fulfill other clinical responsibilities. 

Celebrating Medical Assistant Recognition Day 

Medical assistants carry significant responsibility in their everyday roles. These healthcare professionals are knowledgeable about various facets of the medical office and are the backbone of their teams by ensuring that the clerical and clinical work runs smoothly. Medical assistants deserve to be fully recognized, so in addition to medical assistant recognition day, the healthcare industry also celebrates Medical Assistant Recognition Week starting on October 17th. SpecialtyCare greatly appreciates our medical assistants’ hard work and dedication, so we extend our sincere gratitude for their valuable contributions to healthcare facilities.